Tuesday, March 28, 2017

The Eightfold Path To Enlightenment

This week I will try to explain the Eightfold Path To Enlightenment.  Before I begin let me assure everyone I am not trying to convert you to Buddhism.  Strictly speaking Buddhism is more a philosophy for living than a religion.  Buddha was a real person and is not considered the Buddhist god.  In fact, there is no god in Buddhism.  Buddha is considered a great teacher.  Many of his teachings can be in harmony with other religious beliefs and practices.  The Buddha, which means “Awakened One” was born Siddhartha Gautama into a wealthy aristocratic family.  There is an excellent account of his life written by Herman Hesse in his classic book called Siddhartha
Here are the eight steps once again.
The Noble Eightfold Path
  1. Right View (Are we looking at life as we should?)
  2. Right Aspiration (Are we doing things for the right reason?)
  3. Right Speech (Are we speaking as we should?)
  4. Right Action (Are we doing the right things?)
  5. Right Livelihood (Are we in the right career?)
  6. Right Effort (Are we giving things the effort they deserve?)
  7. Right Mindfulness (Are we being present to life as we should?)
  8. Right Concentration (Are we paying attention as we should?)
Before you can understand  the goal, for lack of a better term, of the Eightfold Path, you need to know four basic truths.  These are often called The Four Noble Truths.
1.       Life is suffering.
2.       The cause of suffering is desire.
3.       Suffering is optional.
4.       We can minimize or eliminate our suffering.

No comments: