Thursday, April 09, 2015

The Eightfold Path To Enlightenment

  1. Right View
  2. Right Intention
  3. Right Speech
  4. Right Action
  5. Right Livelihood
  6. Right Effort
  7. Right Mindfulness
  8. Right Concentration
These are part of a Buddhist teaching called the Eightfold Path to Enlightenment.  In my mind they are applicable to any faith tradition.  The path teaches us to see things as they really are and to always have pure intentions without hidden agendas.  We can practice right speech by always telling the truth.  Our actions should be for the building up of others and not to break them down.  Right livelihood means to do work that is honorable.  Our actions and livelihood should be given proper and appropriate effort.  This means to do what is necessary and needed without over doing it.  Right mindfulness is being where we are and doing what we are doing and right concentration is giving our activity the thoughtfulness it deserves.  If we do all these things consistently we will be enlightened.

No comments: